Games of 2014 – 3rd Place – Depression Quest

This is another case where the actual merits of the game really aren’t relevant whatsoever. Whether the Depression Quest issue was the spark of GamerGate, or if it was the reaction to the Depression Quest issue by the gaming press that was what lit the spark of gamer irritation is really rather academic. The event was what really defined, to my mind, gamer’s 2014. So why third? If I’d feel dirty putting a Unity game on this list, then I’m not going to put something Twiney at more than third.

[Disclaimer: You may or may not have guessed, but I haven’t played Depression Quest, nor do I even have the remotest desire to play Depression Quest. Another reason for why it’d be utterly hideous for it to take up a higher slot. The first two games on my list will actually be really good games. I promise.]

Leave a Reply

